Congratulations to the Black candidates who ran for office in the 2020 September federal election. And extra congratulations for those who now get to take their hard-won seat in the House of Commons in Ottawa. It was a short election— 36 days —but the work started months, even years before the official call in August.

Some people say not much changed in the Sept. 20 election: Prime Minister Justin Trudeau was re-elected with a Liberal minority winning 159 of 338 seats. However for Black Canadians there was some change. Canadians elected nine Black MPs from three provinces: British Columbia, Ontario, and Quebec, from the three main parties and represent a range of political experience. Some of the MPs are new, some are veterans. Arielle Kayabaga of London is a first time MP while Dr. Hedy Fry celebrated her 10th consecutive win.

Here are the winners in alphabetical order:


Michael Coteau

Liberal MP for Don Valley East

Emmanuel Dubourg

Liberal MP for Bourassa

Greg Fergus

Liberal MP for Hull-Aylmer

Dr. Hedy Fry

Liberal MP for Vancouver Centre

Matthew Green

NDP MP for Hamilton Centre

The Honourable Ahmed Hussen

Liberal MP for York South—Weston

Marci Ien

Liberal MP for Toronto Centre

Arielle Kayabaga

Liberal MP for London West

Dr. Leslyn Lewis

Conservative MP for Haldimand-Norfolk
Skip to content